The Green Mountain Hero: Ethan Allen


Captured!
January 6, 1776, 12:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am now sitting in a castle in Falmouth, England as a prisoner of war. You may be wondering how I got here. Let me start back at the attack on Montreal.

The plan was that Brown would attack from the south, while I attacked from the north. I began my attack, but for some reason Brown never arrived (the story is that he got too busy watching the Yankees-Red Sox game). Without Brown’s forces, my men were doomed. Even worse, about fifty of my men dispersed as the British advanced. There was also no chance of retreat (the British had made certain of that). As much as I hated to admit it, it appeared that I would be forced to surrender or die. When a young British officer attacked me, I shouted that I would surrender if my men and I would be treated decently. I was taken to General Prescott’s headquarters. When the General heard that I was the Ethan Allen of Fort Ticonderoga, he almost struck me in rage. When his aide-de-camp restrained him by appealing to his honor, he ordered his soldiers to execute thirteen of my men. I couldn’t bear to see these loyal men killed and as the redcoats raised their muskets I jumped in front of them and requested that they bayonet me before they killed my men. The General decided that I was too valuable a prisoner to kill and ordered his men to lower their muskets.

I was taken to a ship anchored off the coast of Canada. When American soldiers began attacking a nearby town, I was transferred to another ship going to England. I had the misfortune of being on the ship commanded by Brook Watson, a fiendish man who loved to torment me. I, with thirty-three other men, was confined to a small twenty by twenty-two feet room for the entire voyage. Not only that, Watson fed us all the meat we could eat, and then when we became thirsty, refused us water.

Well, I think I’ve written long enough for now. I’ll give more detail in the next post.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

