The Green Mountain Hero: Ethan Allen


Ticonderoga!
May 11, 1775, 11:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ticonderoga is ours!

We marched undetected straight into the unused outer parts of the fort. After raising a loud battle cry, I led the boys straight into the fort. A single sentry at the gate of the inner fort almost shot me, but he misfired and we captured him. He led us to the officers’ quarters, where I ordered Captain Delaplace (the commander of the fort) to come out at once and surrender the whole garrison. The captain came immediately and asked by what authority I asked him to surrender. I answered, “In the name of the great Jehovah, and the Continental Congress” (while I was saying that, I thought how cool it would be if that phrase became a historical quote that schoolboys would have to memorize and write papers on). Since we completely outnumbered the British, Delaplace had no option but to surrender.

Now, we’re just lounging around the fort waiting for orders and refreshing ourselves with the ninety gallons of rum the British left. In fact, I think I’ll go have some more now.

Before I go, let me post this video of the fort I just put on YouTube:

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

